Grand Slam Tennis


The game of tennis, takes advantage of being a year round sport by ensuring that there is ample competition all year round. The highest level of which are the four Grand Slam tournaments held around the year. They are considered the most important and prestigious events, indicated by their level of quality, media attention and size of prize money.

The four tournaments in this level of competition are the Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. Each tournament has its individual characteristics making each unique. This allows for a wide level of competition and ensures that certain players are not at an advantage.

Australian Open

The Australian Open is the first Grand Slam of the calendar year. Held in the month of January in Melbourne, Australia, it is one of two Grand Slam tournaments played on hard court surfaces. It is known to be the first tournament to be equipped for play during wet weather or extreme heat with the two main courts – Rod Laver Arena and the Hisense Arena – having retractable roofs. The current holders of the men and women’s singles tournaments are Novak Djokovic and Victoria Azarenka.

French Open

The French Open, also known as Roland Garros, is held in late May and early June in Paris, France. It is the only Grand Slam tournament to be played on clay, therefore making the game slower. Because of this, and the five-set singles matches without tiebreak in the men’s tournament, it is widely considered the most physically demanding tennis tournament in the world today. The current singles champions are Rafael Nadal and Maria Sharapova.


The third Grand Slam tournament is Wimbledon, held in June and July. Wimbledon is the world’s oldest tennis competition with the first tournament being held in 1877. It is played on grass, the only major tournament to still do so. Held at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, England, the competition is the most prestigious tennis tournament and is steeped in tradition. A few include the strict dress code for competitors and the eating of strawberries and cream by the spectators. The current singles champions are Roger Federer and Serena Williams.

Tennis - 2009 Wimbledon Championships - Day Nine - The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club







US Open

The US Open is the final Grand Slam of the calendar year. It is held during the months of August and September in New York, USA and the second major tournament to be played on hard court surfaces. The US Open is known to have tiebreakers in every set, including the last – a contrast to the other Grand Slam tournaments. The current holders of the men and women’s titles are Andy Murray and Serena Williams.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply